Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

With all the baby excitement going on in my house lately a very important anniversary passed me by without me taking notice. Last week was my one year anniversary of freelance writing full time. I can’t believe it’s been an entire year. It truly feels like just yesterday I quit my full time job. Isn’t it funny how time just flies by when you’re doing something you truly love?!

As many of you who read this blog know it’s been a very good first year and I’ve had some opportunities lately that have made it even better. Here are a few things that I’ve been up to lately on top of my regular client work.

I sold an article!

That’s right, to a real magazine! This is huge for me because I rarely pitch to magazines, as in maybe if I’m lucky I’ll send out three to five pitches a month. That’s certainly not enough – but the best I can do while juggling my clients that keep me busy full time. It’s also a big deal because it’s only the second time I’ve sold an article to a magazine. I was pretty excited! The article doesn’t come out for a while still, so I’m not going to share anymore details until it’s all complete, but I will say it’s for a writer’s magazine.

I’m going to be on the Washington Post blog!

My second huge opportunity is through one of my clients. I got hooked up writing two articles for the Washington Post blog. This is huge to me and I’m so excited to contribute to the legend that is the Washington Post! Both articles focus on back to school, so they should be up in the next month or two. One article I already submitted and once I hear back I’ll start work on the second. I’ll be sure to put the links here when they’re up so you can check them out.

Income wise for my first year things have been pretty good. I’m not making exactly what I was making in my full time office job, but overall I’m making an income I can live off of and it’s very comparable to what I was making.

I’m very proud that in the past year I’ve built up a wonderful list of clients that are happy with my work and keep me very busy most months. Plus I’m very proud that I’ve managed to figure out the business side of things like bookkeeping and setting up my own website.

Overall, this year was a huge success – much more of a success than I thought it would be when I started. I’m truly happy with what I’ve done and how far I’ve come, and I’m completely convinced that this is what I was meant to do with my career.  

2 thoughts on “Time Flies When You’re Having Fun!

  1. Congratulations Raechel! Seems like you’re doing an awesome job and have come such a long way in a year. At the risk of sounding like a mom, just wanted to say, “I’m so proud of you!”

Leave a Reply

