Race for the Cure

My sister, my mom and me at the Race for the Cure.

About two weeks ago I got a team together to participate in our local Race for the Cure. The Columbus, Ohio affiliate race raised $2.5 million for breast cancer research and treatment with 50,396 participants. The day was beautiful – sunny and a nice 75 degrees. We couldn’t have asked for better weather and everyone was in good spirits.

Every year, the Race for the Cure is emotional, just because of the beauty of the survivors and the people willing to give to help the cause. This year it was especially emotional because I was personally touched by breast cancer. The biggest highlight was walking across the finish line with my mom and sister. My mom is officially a one year survivor! It was a very touching experience and one that I hope we repeat for many years to come.

The thousands of people walking to raise money for breast cancer.

The back of my race shirt dedicated to my mom.

Leave a Reply

