And then it was Silent….

It’s been a quiet week for me. In fact, I can’t believe its Thursday – I’m really wondering what I have done with my week. After the last few whirlwind months and April being a great financial month, but very busy, suddenly May started and I’ve got nothing. Well not nothing, but a very light workload. It seems most of my regular clients have less work right now which translates to me having less work right now.

I’ve spent most of the week scanning the job boards and finding very little of interest. I’ve managed to drag out the few projects I have been given but still ended up finishing them yesterday. Now it’s Thursday and I have nothing on the agenda for the next two days and next week to be honest – but I’m still holding out hope that stuff will start coming in.

I briefly thought about signing onto Demand Studios and doing a few articles, but that doesn’t sound appealing at all. In a conversation with a friend yesterday it occurred to me that it’s been a long time since I’ve had any free time in my freelance writing life. It also occurred to me that somehow I should spend this time wisely in a way that will positively impact my career. I love my clients and think they are the best, but I realized that I can only get so far and make so much with clients. I need to work on some things in my career that are purely for me and that perhaps can help me be successful in my own right. Some things that I’m interested in are blogging – duh, writing a fiction book and again writing magazine pieces.

Also I decided to dig out the goals I made at the beginning of this year. I’m proud to say I’ve met a lot of them, but I realized that they focus mostly around my clients. Which is great and I want to keep my clients and keep them happy, but I need to do something for myself too. So I’ve revised my goals to add in some personal projects too.

I’m not going to panic about money right now. I’ve had several great months in a row and have things financially in order. What I am going to do is focus on personal projects for a bit. The hard part is figuring out where to start. My plan for today and tomorrow is to explore what direction I want to go and dig in. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

