Pink Up and Join the Cause!

As regular readers to this blog may know, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2009. It was a rough year and she underwent a lumpectomy, radiation therapy and hormonal therapy. She was strong and brave, and has a good projected outcome. That being said, my sister and I have an increased risk for developing breast cancer. That’s scary! But my sister and I are not the only people at risk – yes, we have an increased risk, but according to the American Cancer Society breast cancer is the most common cancer among women aside from skin cancer. It is possible that 10 million women could die from this disease in the next 25 years. That means your sisters, your daughters, your mother, aunts, grandma, wife and even you could develop breast cancer.

Up until now, I have always tried to take part in my local Race for the Cure put together by Susan G. Komen for the Cure, but it was never a huge commitment I made. This year, as you can imagine the cause hits home a little more.

Susan G. Komen for the Cure
This organization is the largest breast cancer movement in the world. It has invested $1.5 billion in saving lives, empowering people, ensuring quality care and supporting science to find a cure. It began in 1982 and has grown to bring together the world’s largest network of breast cancer survivors and activists. An easy way to support this phenomenal organization is through the Race for the Cure. The Race for the Cure is the biggest 5k run/walk in the world. Many locations throughout the world organize a Race for the Cure and it’s easy to join one to do your part. Click here for a link to find your local Race for the Cure.

My Team
I have formed a team for family and friends that want to walk with my mom. Our team name is Team Twin Peaks (lol!). If you live in Ohio and want to join our team, you are more than welcome – the more the merrier! Click here to go to our team page to sign up. If you don’t live in Ohio, but want to support my team, you can make a donation to either my team or my personal page by clicking here.

Whether you join the cause by taking part in a run/walk or by donating, you are making a difference. Every little bit help brings us one step closer to a world without this horrible disease. I urge you to pink up and join the cause today!

Photo credit: Copyrighted by Bobbie Peachey, http://webclipart.about.com

Leave a Reply

