The Freelancing Lifestyle

I am feeling very grateful that I made up my mind to leave my job and pursue freelance writing on a full time basis. I am still working part time to train my replacement, but a few more weeks and I will be done for good. So while the steady money is nice, I much prefer my time at home working on my projects, for my clients. Here are my five favorite things so far:

1) I actually have a weekend now! This weekend was the first weekend in a long time where I didn’t think about work – not once and I have to say it was a very nice weekend. Mostly I spent time with family and friends. My husband and I went to a music/arts festival and then stopped and had dinner with my grandpa. Then we went out with friends for a birthday, and we finished off the weekend with a baseball game.

2) The stress is disappearing. Since leaving my job, (well, mostly) I have felt the stress just melt away. It’s like, all of a sudden, I am moving at a clam pace and I am actually able to live in the moment. I can concentrate on what I am doing and not be thinking about 101 things while trying to do something else. When I feel myself start to rush through something, I  remind myself to slow down, there is no rush. I’ll get done what I get done. I really think life is supposed to be lived at a slower pace. I mean, what was the point of all that rushing around anyway? It’s not like it really got me  that far, I think I can get much further at my own pace on my own terms.

3) I can actually sleep. For most of my adult life, I thought I suffered from insomnia. I literally can’t remember the last time I got a full eight hours of sleep. That too must have been stress related because now I sleep almost eight hours a night – and its good sleep, not restless sleep. It’s just amazing how much better I feel with a full night’s sleep. I really have no idea how I functioned on four or five hours of sleep before.

4) I’m have the opportunity to learn about things that actually interest me. I know that sounds weird, but before I just worked, period, that’s pretty much it. Now I can actually read up on things that interest me, and sometimes if I’m lucky I can get paid to write about them. I feel like daily I am coming across more that interests me that I want to learn more about.

5) Finally, I actually like it to be quiet and to be by myself all day. I’m not non-social, quite the opposite, but I value time alone and I really enjoy the house to myself all day. I know that a lot of freelancers have a hard time with that, but I really don’t mind it.

I feel like the world is just open now and anything is possible. It’s a very liberating feeling, and I love to think of all the possibilities! The bottom line is I think I am designed for the freelancing lifestyle – I just hope I can make it work financially!

One thought on “The Freelancing Lifestyle

  1. Wow, it sounds like you really made the right decision! You are right — no one should have to live with all that stress!

Leave a Reply

