Learning Something New Every Day!

One thing I love about the wonderful world of freelancing is that I feel like I learn and explore something new every day. Today I learned about two things.

I started exploring Twitter – I’ve had an account for a while now but have never actually used it. So I started reading up on it today. There is so much information out there that is really helpful, it is amazing. And quite soon, I will be using Twitter to see if it helps my writing career.

The other thing I discovered today is Google Reader. I’m not sure of all the ins and outs yet, but so far it has been awesome! Call me behind the times, but this is great because I can actually see all the updates posted on my favorite blogs (all writing blogs so far!) right in one place.

So while I know that most of you are probably already familiar with these two gems I am exploring (if you’re not, check them out), I am just happy to have the time to finally explore them and hopefully some more things in the near future.

One other thing that I am thinking about, researching and considering is a way to boost viewers to this blog. I’m considering making it more of a niche, or starting a more specific blog to improve my online presence. So far, I’m a little short on ideas, but hopefully soon I will have a grasp on where I want to go with blogging.

Having the opportunity to learn something new every day keeps things exciting and fun! I hope that my writing career always remains this way and I hope that I never lose the desire to learn something new.

Do you have any suggestions of other things I can look into? Remember I am still fairly new to all of this!

One thought on “Learning Something New Every Day!

  1. I just got set up on TweetDeck so that I can divide up all my Twitter contacts into different groups, which makes it easier to keep track of the tweets you’re most interested. I also started following some freelance job leads on Twitter … @writersjobs is a good one. I thought this article about using Twitter as a job search tools is really interesting: http://www.blogworldexpo.com/blog/2009/05/08/twitter-the-best-job-search-tool-ever/

Leave a Reply

