Thoughts of a Website

In my opinion a website is an essential tool for any freelance writer and I want one. A website would be a great way to showcase my work and provide additional information that potential clients may need, to know more about me when considering me for a job.

The problem is creating a website scares me a little. Funny – in my full time job I have created websites and maintained them with no problems. Actually web design is something that I find easy to pick up, so I have no idea why I am hesitant to create my own, to profit my own business. Maybe it is a fear of failure, or a fear of the unknown, I’m not sure. Perhaps this has to do with software – what I use in my full time job is not available to me for this (I can’t afford it!), so I am on the lookout for something I can afford. It also makes me a little nervous to get a domain and all that jazz. I have always had my employers take care of that, so I don’t know much about it.

I know that a lot of people have created websites very easily, and there is really nothing to be scared of, I am perfectly capable of this, I know that! But I keep putting it off. I suspect that this may also have something to do with the time commitment. Websites take time to get exactly right and I have very little time to devote to this right now. So here is my plan:

I am going to research domains and software. I am also going to look at other people’s websites to see what I like and what I don’t like. That way, when I have the time, I will be well prepared to create my own website and I won’t be so leery of my ability or the programs I need. I am going to schedule my first week after leaving my job as the time to get my website up and running. In the meantime, do you have any suggestions for me to make this easier?

Also, if you haven’t yet, be sure to check out my guest blog post on Want To Freelance called “The Importance of Marketing in a Freelance Writing Career”.

One thought on “Thoughts of a Website

  1. I use Microsoft Visual Studio Express for my Web site — you can download it for free:

    http://www.microsoft.com/express/download/

    And it’s easy to get a domain name … you can get them through sites like godaddy or namesecure for $8-10 and you can get hosting through them for pretty cheap too. I am having mine hosted by a colleague who is charging me just $5 a month.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

