A Freelance Writer – Huh?

Today I read a post that really hit home. Jodee over at Freelance Writing Jobs, an excellent source of information for any freelance writer, wrote a great post about others people’s responses when they find out that you are a freelance writer. The thing that most people don’t get is that you are your own boss. You don’t work for anyone else.

This really struck a chord with me. I have just now begun telling people that I am a freelance writer and for the most part their reaction is:
A) Who do you work for?
B) The smile and the look that says, “aww, you have a hobby – at least you have a real full time job too”.
C) And finally, my personal favorite – A what?

Up to this point, I have had a hard time explaining what I do. Usually, I go into a long detailed explanation about how I primarily write web content with the hopes that I will eventually be doing more, I work from home, I look for clients daily, etc. The thing is, usually people just don’t get it. It has taken a long time for even some of my friends and family to get it. And still there are those close to me that think of my writing as just a hobby.

Well, as Jodee pointed out, I have a job, I work for me. I actively pursue clients, I am my own boss and I determine how much I make. In a very real way, I am starting my own business. Yes, I still have a full time job, but I am planning to leave it in a mere two months, to earn a living as a freelance writer.

It gives me great comfort to know that other people encounter this too. It is also helpful to hear how other people explain their freelance work. It’s not traditional, but that’s one of the things that I love about it. Jodee’s post has given me the confidence, and a reminder to be proud when telling people what I do and that I work for myself. Freelance writing is a valid career, and a career that I have worked and will continue to work harder at than any other job I have ever had.

Check out Jodee’s post: Who do you work for? It’s a good one!

One thought on “A Freelance Writer – Huh?

  1. Thank you for the kind words! Much appreciated. :o)

Leave a Reply

