Bleeding Heart

One thing about working with non-profit organizations is that you constantly come across people who have the biggest and best hearts. These are the people that would give their money or time, even if they had nothing to give. These people in my estimation are the salt of the earth.

I have worked with professional athletes that make time in their busy schedules to take a sick child on a shopping spree and pay for it with their own money. I have worked with downtown businessmen that literally spend a part of everyday raising funds. I have even worked with poor college students that spend their free time volunteering. These are the people that inspire me to be a better person, and to not always think about myself. They are also the people that will make it very hard for me to walk away from. I know I’m leaving, I have made up my mind and I know I owe it to myself to try this, but I will need to find some way to give back and stay in touch with these types of inspiring people.

Having spent my whole career raising funds in non-profit organizations, I have never been on the other end. When you work for a non-profit organization, by the end of the day you have nothing left to give. All the non-profits I have worked for operate on the bare minimum staff and achieve extraordinary success with very little resources, but being an employee, it leaves you stretched to the limit.

I have always envisioned myself as a bleeding heart and to some extent I am – choosing up to this point, lower pay for a chance to make a difference in the lives of others, but above and beyond that, I haven’t had the time or the money to give back. It is my goal to be able to give back, it’s so important; it’s what humanity is all about. I truly believe that you get what you give.

I have high hopes that my writing will make a difference and that eventually I will get to the point where my work will move people, persuade people or at the very least add something to someone’s life. But there are other ways to make a difference and that is something I never plan to lose sight of.

Leave a Reply

