Simplify

This year, my goal is to simplify my life. I’m done with the complicated, the stressful and the fast paced life. I want and desperately need to simplify. Here are some areas that are cluttering my life both physically and mentally:

My work situation. I find myself working insane hours. Mostly because I have a full-time job that requires above and beyond the normal 40 hours a week. Now that I have started freelance writing, it seems that I am constantly on the go. I never, ever just have down time. However, my hope is that this is a transition period and that in the future writing will enable me to simplify.

My personal life. It seems that due to my long days, I have very little time to spend with family, friends and even my husband. When I do actually have time, I feel like I am running from one social event to another in the effort to try to see and please everyone. I think I need to take some time and think through my schedule before I agree to plans to give myself time to enjoy the time I have because I am not pleasing anyone being on the go so much.

My wardrobe. I know this sounds funny, but I have entirely too many clothes, shoes and purses. I could literally stock a whole shoe store, not to mention the three drawers I have that are full of tank tops, many of which still have tags on them. Who needs so much stuff? Keeping it all in order is a chore in itself.

My ability to make decisions. I worry so much about what other people think and how my decisions will affect them. Of course by this I mean big decisions, but I am referring to smaller decisions too. Like when my husband asks me simply, where I would like to eat dinner, or what movie we should rent. I can’t make up my mind. I am so indecisive that I let it bother me to the point that once we finally pick out a movie, I spend the whole movie worrying that he is bored with it. I need to stop fretting over these minor things, make a decision and stick to it.

My perfectionism (is that a word?). I am a perfectionist. I don’t have the ability to do anything halfway. I strive to do everything perfect, dress perfect, keep my house perfectly clean, you get the point. Well, the truth is I know that no one is perfect, yet I still try to be the impossible. Lately, I have been trying to cut myself some slack and say, you know what? If this isn’t perfect, it just isn’t. And I have to force myself to walk away.

Finally, my sleep schedule. I need to make the effort to go to bed earlier. I know myself and I know that I do not function well on little sleep, yet I still stay up too late when I know I have to wake up early. Why do I do this to myself?

And with that my friends, I simply say goodnight!

Leave a Reply

